Minimum Wage by State and 2018 Increases

January 11, 2018


15 56 57 968 ohio minimum wage increase

For many medium-to-small sized organizations, managing the myriad of federal compliance regulations is a top challenge. In fact, a recent Paycor survey found that 42% of organizations have negative feelings about their compliance management practices. In most instances, compliance management falls squarely on HR’s shoulders, and with limited resources and understaffed departments, keeping up with the many changes that continue to impact the current landscape is a tall task. That challenge is becoming even more daunting with the recent rise in local and state mandates for regulations like paid sick leave, state tax changes, pay equity laws and minimum wage increases.

On January 1, 2018, eighteen states across the country increased minimum wage requirements for workers. Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio and South Dakota raised their rates based on cost of living, while eleven states, including Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington, raised their rates because of previously approved legislation or ballot initiatives.

To ensure your organization is aware of the latest minimum wage requirements, Paycor has created a breakdown by state.

State  Minimum Wage 
Alabama  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Alaska  $9.84 
Arizona  $10.50 
Arkansas  $8.50 
California   $11.00* 
Colorado  $10.20 
Connecticut  $10.10 
Delaware  $8.25 
Washington D.C.  $12.50 (set to increase on 7/1/18 to $13.25) 
Florida  $8.25 
Georgia  $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the federal minimum wage.) 
Hawaii  $10.10 
Idaho  $7.25 
Illinois  $8.25 
Indiana  $7.25 
Iowa  $7.25 
Kansas  $7.25 
Kentucky  $7.25 
Louisiana  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Maine  $10.00 
Maryland  $9.25 
Massachusetts  $11.00 
Michigan  $9.25 
Minnesota  $9.65** 
Mississippi  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Missouri  $7.85 
Montana  $8.30 
Nebraska  $9.00 
Nevada  $8.25 
New Hampshire  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
New Jersey  $8.60 
New Mexico  $7.50 
New York  $10.40 
North Carolina  $7.25 
North Dakota  $7.25 
Ohio  $8.30 
Oklahoma  $7.25 
Oregon  $10.25 
Pennsylvania  $7.25 
Rhode Island  $10.10 
South Carolina  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
South Dakota  $8.65 
Tennessee  $7.25 (Federal, no state minimum) 
Texas  $7.25 
Utah  $7.25 
Vermont  $10.50 
Virginia  $7.25 
Washington  $11.50 
West Virginia  $8.75 
Wisconsin  $7.25 
Wyoming  $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the federal minimum wage.) 


*$11.00 rate is for California employers with 26 or more employees. Employers in California with 25 or less employees have a minimum wage of $10.50 per hour.

**$9.65 rate is for large employers. Small employers have a minimum wage of $7.87 per hour.

For nearly 30 years, Paycor has been guiding our clients through big changes to federal, state, and local taxes as well as compliance. We do it through a combination of expert advice and smart, automatically updated payroll software.

Plus, our Resource Center provides the latest compliance updates, industry trends, thought leadership and best practices to help organizations achieve their vision and reach their potential. Sign up below to receive our latest articles, and updates.

Subscribe to Our Resource Center Digest

Enter your email below to receive a weekly recap of the latest articles from Paycor's Resource Center.


Have questions regarding the new changes? Your Paycor team is here to help. If you have any concerns, reach out to your Paycor support team.

Paycor is not a legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor. All communication from Paycor should be confirmed by your company’s legal, tax, benefit, accounting or investment advisor before making any decisions.


Previous Flipbook
Affordable Care Act Checklist
Affordable Care Act Checklist

If you received Letter 226J, learn what you need to stay compliant, here.

Next Article
2018 Mileage Rate Updates
2018 Mileage Rate Updates

The IRS has announced that the business standard mileage rate for transportation expenses paid or incurred ...